I Found a Reason

15 Nov
Let us not live more in apathy born of fatalism
 than in passion born of hope.

I had an excellent Sunday. Went to church (above quote was from the liturgy) and then spent the rest of the day with one of my nearest and dearest friends. Laura and I have been super close ever since our study abroad adventures in Australia the summer after our freshmen year. So, that got me thinking about how much has changed in my life and my wardrobe over the past three and a half years. So without further ado, I present a quick review of my college career along with lessons I’ve learned- fashion related and otherwise.

Freshmen Year

High school and college have very few things in common.

Being a biology major is not for me.

Wearing heels to class is really not practical.

Freshmen year is the last time certain things are acceptable- like wearing cropped jackets.

 

Sophomore Year

The best and most interesting things always happen when you least expect it.

I want to work in the fashion industry (and it’s ok to admit I’d rather do that than work in public health)

The magic of purple denim shorts. (Or shorts as eveningwear in general)

The appeal of something so simplistic (not the same as boring) of a little black dress.

 

Junior Year

Leading an organization teaches you more about yourself and life than any formal schooling can.

The choices we make are important for our future not only because they form our next steps but because they set a pattern for how we choose to react and act.

The importance of staple pieces (MK watch, Diesel black jeans, etc)

Waiting till you’re 20 to get your ears pierced makes shopping for earrings super exciting.

 

Senior Year

You can’t always get what you want but you get what you need (Thanks Rolling Stones)

I’ve come so far but still have so much to learn.

Red lipstick is the best thing since sliced bread.

Vintage clothing works as well for everyday wear as it does for a costume party.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

