Pursuit of Happiness

18 Oct

Well, I have been quite neglectful of my blog over the past several months. I realigned my priorities this summer and sadly blogging went to the wayside. Things have drastically changed for me in the past month. (If we haven’t talked lately, feel free to Facebook/text/call.) As with all large scale disappointments, I went through a period of anger and shock followed by a “if life gives you lemons, make lemonade and have a party” phase. But thanks to my long weekend in Atlanta and Athens, Georgia of catching up on fashion magazines and vintage shopping, I’m back on the bandwagon. So, I’ll be back to blogging now, but a bit differently. I’m older and hopefully a bit wiser now.

I’m still four years away from hitting the 25 year mark, but as I read Elle’s feature of twenty five 25 year old It Girls it hit me there is certainly more than one way to success.

Elle’s list of 25 was filled with some celebrities who irk me (Megan Fox and Lauren Conrad in particular) as well as several young women who are inspiring trailblazers (Meghan McCain and Gabourey Sidibe come to mind). For better or worse, these 25 women help make up our pop culture landscape. There’s not too much any individual can do about it. Just as there’s little we can do about forseeing our own future. Having your ducks lined up in a row doesn’t make you immune from disappointment anymore than having a closet full of designer clothing instills you with a sense of style.

I’m certainly not suggesting skipping class or throwing out your Kate Spade purse. Just don’t get so caught up in all that you can’t enjoy the occasional useless evening or finding a ridiculous sweater vest in a store called Rag-o-Rama.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

